Daily Schedule Part 2 (weeks 7-16)

Part II: Using the Affordances of the Web

week 7

Tuesday, Feb. 27
Web Literacy and Fake News
Listen: Hidden Brain Podcast: When It Comes To Politics and ‘Fake News,’ Facts Aren’t Enough
Listen: Radiolab Podcast: Breaking News and accompanying video
Read: How to Spot Fake News
Read: Writer/Designer pg. 1-19

Thursday, March 1
Multimodality: When, Where, and Why
Tech Presentation: Group #5
Read: Carr, “Is Google Making Us Stupid?”
Read: Web Writing Style Guide, How Can I Use Video on my Site? to the end, p. 49-72
Read: Writer/Designer p.77-92
Blog Post 4 due

week 8

Tuesday, March 6
Using Video
Read: Writer/Designer: p. 40-56
Long-Form Project assigned
Research Journal entry 2 due

Thursday, March 8
Using Video continued
Tech Presentation: Group #6
Blog Work Day: 4th page focus
Blog Post 5 due

spring break—no class

March 13-15

week 9

Tuesday, March 20
Using Audio
Read: McKee, “Sound Matters: Notes toward the analysis and design of sound in multimodal webtexts
Here are links to the multimedia examples in McKee’s article:
Homework: Radio Lab segment rhetorical analysis
Breathing/Secret of Roe
Conversation
Winter Lyric
New York City: After the Fall
Sound Poems

Thursday, March 22
Tech Presentation: Group #7
Using Audio
Continuation of McKee article discussion listen: Radio Lab, Morality
Read: Writer/Designer p.93-105
Blog Post 6 due

week 10

Tuesday, March 27
Long-Form Project proposal workshopping
Research Journal entry 3 due

Thursday, March 29
Tech Presentation: Group #8
Long-Form Project proposal workshopping
Blog Post 7 due

week 11

Tuesday, April 3
Video Production Workshop
Read: Writer/Designer p. 119-135

Thursday, April 5
Tech Presentation: Group #9
Video Production Workshop
Blog Post 8 due

week 12

Tuesday, April 10
Audio Production Workshop
Research Journal entry 4 due

Thursday, April 12
Tech Presentation: Group #10
Audio Production Workshop
Blog Post 9 due

week 13

Tuesday, April 17
E-book & other print formats Workshop
Website 4th page of your choice due 

Thursday, April 19
Tech Presentation: Group #11
Intro to HTML and Long-Form Project work day
Blog Post 10 due

week 14

Tuesday, April 24
Long-Form Project draft workshopping
In-class: Complete your author sheet and submit it to the Canvas Discussion forum.
Homework: Prepare for the Wednesday and Friday workshop days—Read/view/listen to your group members’ drafts and by class time Wednesday submit the completed workshop sheet for each project to the Canvas Discussion forum.
Read: Writer/Designer p. 106-118
Long-Form Project draft due
Research Journal entry 5 due (Research Analysis Overview or for Optional Blog)

Thursday, April 26
Long-Form Project draft workshopping
Tech Presentation: Group #12
Bonus Blog Post due (optional!–for missed blog or late-work make-up)
Blog/Website project Reflective Analysis due 

week 15

Tuesday, May 1 (attendance required)
Long-Form Project work day

Thursday, May 3 (attendance optional)
Long-Form Project work day
Long-Form Project, Reflective Analysis, & corresponding page/link on your website due

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s